Something to do with Used Coffee Grounds

Today I made a hand scrub. Not a regular sugar scrub, but a coffee-sugar scrub. I just dumped some used coffee grounds from this morning into an empty jar, and added some brown sugar. The recipe calls for 5 parts coffee to 1 part sugar, but I think the mixture could stand to have a little extra brown sugar to make it grittier (if you use coarse-ground coffee from a French press, you may be able to use less sugar.)

The smell is not the best, so I added a few drops of peppermint essential oil. I wanted to use something with more of an earthy scent to complement the coffee smell, but the peppermint ended up being very interesting. The end result smelled like mint chocolate.

I rubbed my hands and arms with the scrub, and after a few seconds, rinsed. My skin was pretty soft and stayed that way for a few hours. Coffee has lots of antioxidants and caffeine is good on skin, increasing blood flow and firming blood vessels. The best part was that the smell does not stay on skin.

Gift Idea: Tie a tag to the jar and give away to someone with noticeably rough hands!

4 Comments

Filed under Cosmetics, Food

4 responses to “Something to do with Used Coffee Grounds

  1. marycnasser

    What a great idea! I love coffee, so I be this smells good, too!
    So nice to meet you through Etsy’s Blogging Buddies Team.
    I am your newest blog follower via Networked Blogs! :)

    All the best,
    Mary
    http://www.marycnasser.com/blog

  2. I haven’t tried a coffee-sugar scrub yet, so this sounds really cool!
    ~Kim
    2justByou.blogspot.com

  3. Chrissy: I LOVE making my own beauty products! I have an amazing Etsy shop to recommend too- I just did a post on them here: http://www.pearllovesearl.com/2012/09/Ablution-33-natural-beauty.html Also- how did the no poo test hold up over time? I’ve heard a lot about it, but have thick hair and am scared to try! Does your hair really get less oily and shinier over time?

    • Hi!
      My hair is super thick, so sometimes my hair can feel oily if I don’t rinse the shampoo out really well in the back. Over time, my hair is shinier, especially with a dab of coconut oil. The texture is different; not oily and not dry. I can go a long time without washing my hair, because it doesn’t get that oiliness on top.
      Good luck, hope you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

